Simply enter your keyword and we will help you find what you need.

What are you looking for?

Ogd

Shortlisted | Book Awards 2021 | Writings for Young Adults

Ogd

Once upon a time, in the kingdom of Ogd, a Messiah was born … with her foot in her mouth.

Full Title: Ogd: A mostly random and profoundly nonsensical enquiry into the nature of apocalypse, cartography, education, hairstyling, interdimensional travel, intertemporal travel, mathematics, monarchy, philosophy, physics, poetry, publishing, religion and toenails.

Author: Anushka Ravishankar
Publisher: Penguin Random House India

Award Category: Writings for Young Adults
About the Book: 

Once upon a time, in the kingdom of Ogd, a Messiah was born ... with her foot in her mouth.

This might be her story.

Her position of foetal gaffe allows her to eat her toenails, which nourish her and make her toenails grow so that she can eat them. Apart from the practicality of the situation, this also is the basis of her profound teachings. As the Messiah travels through many dimensions, her followers learn the importance of bells, nirvana, clean feet, Klein bottles and phonetics, among diverse other things.

Ding dong.

Following in the tradition of Lewis Carroll, Anushka Ravishankar writes nonsense prose, which addresses complex issues of the mode


About the Author: 

Anushka Ravishankar, often called the Indian Dr Suess, has been a pioneer in writing both nonsense in contemporary English in India and also picture books. Some of the earliest Indian picture books to be published internationally and win international awards were by her, such as Tiger on a Tree, Catch that Crocodile and Elephants Never Forget. She has gone on to collaborate with many international illustrators to create some extraordinary picture books.

More recently, her chapter books have also been much loved, such as Moin and the Monster and the Zain and Ana series. She is also the co-founder of the much acclaimed indie publishing house, Duckbill.

The blend of humour, realism and nonsense in Anushka's writing, as well as the charm of the characters she creates has won her many fans in India and internationally.


Excerpt: 

Once upon a time in the Kingdom of Ogd there was a nuclear holocaust. The explosion blasted the Kingdom out of shape and it became a strange looking thing that had no inside or outside. This was an evolutionary necessity because the only way not to have a nuclear holocaust inside Ogd was by not having an inside of Ogd.
The geographical transformation of Ogd led to many developments. It was, for instance, the origin of the famous saying:
ALL ROADS LEAD TO OGD
since any road that led outside Ogd also led inside Ogd.


Write a Review

Review Ogd.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *