Simply enter your keyword and we will help you find what you need.

What are you looking for?

Appointment of Judges to the Supreme Court of India

Nominated | Book Awards 2019 | English Non-fiction

Appointment of Judges to the Supreme Court of India

Full Title: Transparency, Accountability and Independence

Author: Arghya Sengupta & Ritwika Sharma (eds)
Publisher: Oxford University Press

Award Category: English Non-fiction
About the Book: 

In Supreme Court Advocates-on-Record Association v. Union of India, the Supreme Court of India, by majority, struck down the National Judicial Appointments Commission (NJAC), established to appoint judges to the Supreme Court of India and High Courts. Unsurprisingly, the NJAC judgment has been the subject of a deeply polarized debate in the public sphere and academia. The essays in this volume analyse the NJAC judgment, and provide a rich context to it, in terms of philosophical, comparative, and constitutional issues that underpin it. T

he work traces the history of judicial appointments in India; analyses constitutional principles behind selecting judges and their application in the NJAC Case; and comparatively examines the judicial appointments process in six select countries-UK, South Africa, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Canada, and Nepal-enquiring into what makes a good judge and an effective appointments process.

About the Author: 

Arghya Sengupta is the founder of and research director at Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy, New Delhi. Ritwika Sharma is a research fellow at Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy, New Delhi.

Edited by Arghya Sengupta, Founder and Research Director, Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy, Delhi., and Edited by Ritwika Sharma, Research Fellow, Vidhi Centre for Legal Policy, Delhi.

Arghya Sengupta, Suchindran B.N., T.R. Andhyarujina, A.K. Ganguli, Arun Jaitley, Pratap Bhanu Mehta, Justice KT Thomas, Mukul Rohatgi, Madhavi Divan, Raju Ramachandran, Mythili Vijay Kumar Thallam, Arvind Datar, Gautam Bhatia, Alok Prasanna Kumar, Gopal Subramanium, Suhrith Parthasarathy, Chintan Chandrachud, Chris McConnachie, Peter McCormick, Sameer Khosa, Rehan Abeyratne, Semanta Dahal

Write a Review

Review Appointment of Judges to the Supreme Court of India.

Your email address will not be published.