Simply enter your keyword and we will help you find what you need.

What are you looking for?

A Burning

Nominated | Book Awards 2021 | Creative Writing in English (Fiction & Poetry)

A Burning

For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies-and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India

Full Title: A Burning

Author: Megha Majumdar
Publisher: Penguin Random House India

Award Category: Creative Writing in English (Fiction & Poetry)
About the Book: 

This is an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe. They seek to rise-to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies. One is Jivan, a Muslim girl from the slums accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. The second is PT Sir, an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, only to find his own ascent linked to Jivan’s fall. And the third is Lovely, an irresistible outcast who has an alibi that can set Jivan free-but at the cost of everything she holds dear. Taut, symphonic, propulsive and riveting right from the outset, A Burning has the force of an epic while being so masterfully compressed that it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance, at a breakneck pace, on complex themes that read as the components of a thriller: class, fate, corruption, justice and what it feels like to face profound obstacles while nurturing big dreams in a country spinning towards extremism.


About the Author: 

MEGHA MAJUMDAR was born and raised in Kolkata, India. She moved to the United States to attend
college at Harvard University, where she was a Traub scholar, followed by graduate school at the Johns Hopkins University, where she studied social anthropology. She works as an associate editor at Catapult and lives in New York City. A Burning is her first book.


Excerpt: 

Excerpt emailed separately to [email protected]


Write a Review

Review A Burning.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *