Simply enter your keyword and we will help you find what you need.

What are you looking for?

The Story of The Sikhs: 1469-1708


Longlisted | Book Awards 2022 | English Non-fiction

The Story of The Sikhs: 1469-1708

Full Title: The Story of The Sikhs: 1469-1708

Author: Sarbpreet Singh
Publisher: Penguin Random House India

Award Category: English Non-fiction
About the Book: 

The power of storytelling meets the colourful history of the Sikh faith in The Story of the Sikhs. In this book, author Sarbpreet Singh helps us reimagine the lives of the Sikh Gurus through a rich narrative that that intricately weaves in selections from the Guru Granth Sahib, the Dasam Granth and epic Braj poetry.
Starting from the birth of the first guru, Guru Nanak, the book charts the lives of the ten Gurus. Through carefully curated stories, the book does not just show the egalitarian ideals and compassionate worldview that have come to define the faith, but also sheds light on the historical context that defined the foundational principles which guided Sikhs during the era of each Guru.
Sarbpreet has deliberately approached this retelling as a storyteller rather than as a student of history in an attempt to make the work accessible and engaging. Immersive and expansive, The Story of the Sikhs is a tour de force that weaves a multi-dimensional tapestry of narrative and poetry.

About the Author: 

Sarbpreet Singh is a writer, podcaster and commentator. He is also the author of the critically acclaimed Night of the Restless Spirits and the bestselling The Camel Merchant of Philadelphia, and the writer-narrator of the Story of The Sikhs podcast which has listeners in over ninety countries.

Write a Review

Review The Story of The Sikhs: 1469-1708.

Your email address will not be published.